Polka Dot Cupcakes

When I started this blog, my intent was to post at the end of every week, but now, here I am, on a Sunday, and I haven’t finished my post yet. I can see how such a commitment can get difficult. I’m going to stick it out, though!

These cupcakes were an order for my first baby shower, the theme being polka-dots. I was pretty pumped about getting to make dots for the cupcakes, too. The polka-dots were made out of gum paste, not fondant. Every time I work with fondant, I have to let it dry for about a week before I can even stand it up. ick! This was my first time to work with gum paste. I definitely look forward to working with it some more, as I’m thinking that I could have done a few things a little better. In order to keep the paste from sticking to anything, I had to put more powdered sugar into it, which made the paste blotchy and unattractive. I ended up using a pastry brush to wipe a bit of water onto all of them, which did the trick, but it took a long time. So more work to be done with gum paste! In the end, the cupcakes tasted lovely (an adapted version of my previous chocolate cupcakes) and looked adorable. I think the lady loved them, too, which made me super happy. Recipe after the strip!

I seem to be getting more and more orders, which is a great thing to have. Because of the prospect of more business, I’ve started looking into the actual laws behind home baking in Texas. I’m not going to write a paragraph on my limitations, but at least I now know my limits. The biggest piece is that I have to be paid at home, either physically or by mail. No paypal… bummer.

I’ve decided that all of my profits will be going to classes at my local bakery, too. I’m looking forward to learning some new things!

 

Chocolate Cupcakes 
  • 1 stick butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa (best quality available)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup Nutella
  • 1 cup boiling water
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In the large bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the butter and sugar.
  3. Add eggs and vanilla.  Beat on medium speed for one minute.
  4. In a separate bowl, sift together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  5. Reduce mixer speed to low and slowly add about half of the flour mixture.  Add half of the milk, then the rest of the flour and the rest of the milk.  Beat until just combined.
  6.  Stir in boiling water.
  7.  Fill liners 1/2 full with batter.
  8.  Bake cupcakes for 22-24 minutes, or until your cake tester comes out clean, but moist.

Near Perfect Buttercream Recipe

  • 1 lb unsalted butter, brought to room temperature
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 bag (2 lbs) confectioners sugar, sifted
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  1. Completely cream the butter in your stand mixer.
  2. Mix in the vanilla and salt and beat for 30 seconds. If you have food coloring that you are using, I recommend using it now.
  3. Pour in about a third of the confectioners sugar and mix slowly until it is completely mixed in. Add in another third and mix, finishing with the last third.
  4. Evaluate the texture of your frosting and add the cream to get the consistency you desire. I used the whole 1/4 cup. If the frosting becomes too soft for your liking, add in more powdered sugar and alternate with cream until you get the desired consistency.

3 responses

Leave a comment