Iced Lemon Poundcake

This past weekend was the weekend of the New!

We’ve been in our new home for a few months now, and when we moved in, we tried to get our landlords to update the oven. It didn’t happen then, but after we tried out the oven for a while, we had them convinced.

With the hot spots, crooked heating coils, and broken oven light, I say “Good riddance!” I’m pretty sure that thing was older than me. 

It has now been sent off to oven heaven and I have a new oven to play with! It has convection, which I didn’t use this first time, but I’m looking forward to trying it out. Look how pretty it is!

Second in my weekend of New is actually the cake recipe and pan. I know I’ve mentioned a few times how big a fan I am of Shirley O. Corriher’s book, Bakewise. This lady knows her stuff. In her book, she has a few recipes that require bundt cake pans. “Require”? Yes! According to Ms. Corriher, some cake batters are so dense that if you baked them in regular pans, they would end up being burned on the outside and raw on the inside. Bleh. Who knew the hole was good for something, right?! Because the batter is so dense, the cake will almost always end up being full of moisture and will also contain fewer bubbles. If a cake isn’t moist, I won’t waste the calories on it. Lucky for me, I didn’t do any calorie wasting with this cake… wait. Anyway, I bought myself a bundt cake pan specifically for this book.

I know that right now, people are really into pretty layer cakes all covered in smooth frosting and sprinkles, but these cakes have nothing on this Iced Lemon Poundcake. I have never had something so wonderful in all my life… cake-wise. The cake is so moist and tender, but not too lemony. What makes this cake awesome is the glaze and icing. That’s right, people, I said, glaze AND icing. The glaze is a mixture of fresh lemon juice and sugar, brushed on while the cake is still warm. After the glaze has cooled, a simple icing is “drooled” on the cake. Shirley’s words, not mine. There were definitely two kinds of drooling being done this weekend, if you know what I’m saying. This was, hands down, husband’s favorite cake “evar”. I was specifically told that no sharing was to be done with this cake.

The only thing that really bothered me about preparing this cake were were the blanched ground almonds. I couldn’t find the things anywhere, so I had to start from scratch. If anyone tells you that blanching and then hand-peeling half a cup of almonds is fun, you slap them in the mouth, because they are lying hard. The next time I make this cake, the ground almonds will be omitted. Everything else, though, was totally worth the trouble. Imagine a cake donut, but cake… and tastier. Recipe for the cake, glaze and icing after the strip!

Iced Lemon Pound Cake

Makes one 12-cup Bundt Cake

  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, cut in 2-tablespoon pieces
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 2 tbsp pure lemon extract
  • Zest of 4 large lemons
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 5 large eggs
  • 2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup finely ground blanched almonds
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and coat your pan with shortening and powder with confectioners sugar.
  2. Beat together flour, ground almonds, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl for about a minute and set aside.
  3. With a stand mixer, cream the butter until light in color and then add the sugar. Cream the mixture until combined and light in color. Before continuing to the next step, make sure the bowl you’re using is cool. If it does not feel cool, stick it in the freezer for a few minutes. Continue creaming after you’ve taken the bowl out of the fridge.
  4. Beat in the oil, lemon extract, lemon zest, and lemon juice.
  5. On the lowest speed, with a minimum of beating, blend in the yolks and then the whole eggs, one at a time.
  6. Continuing on the same low speed, blend the flour mixture into the stand mixer bowl in three additions, scraping down the sides every time.
  7. In a cold bowl, with cold beaters, whip the cream into soft peaks. Stir about a fourth of the whipped cream into your batter and then slowly fold in the rest.
  8. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and smooth batter with a spatula.
  9. Place the cake in the middle of the oven and bake for about an hour, or until your cake tester comes out clean, but moist. While your cake is in the oven, make the Lemon Glaze!
  10. When you take the cake out of the oven, let it stand on a cooling rack IN THE PAN for 10 to 20 minutes. Invert the cake onto your serving platter to allow it to finish cooling. You’ll want to start glazing the cake with the Lemon Glaze.
Lemon Glaze Recipe
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  1. Stir the lemon juice and sugar together until the sugar is completely dissolved.
  2. Brush the glaze onto the hot cake and continue brushing until the glaze is completely absorbed.
Let the cake cool completely before drizzling on the icing.
Pound Cake Icing Recipe
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 3 tbsp heavy cream
  • 1/4 pure vanilla extract
  1. In a 2-cup bowl or measuring cup, stir together the sugar, cream and vanilla. The consistency at this point will be rather thick. Because I wanted my icing to flow down the side of my cake, rather than do that awesome “drool” thing, I added a bit more cream and actually heated it a bit. Drizzle the icing on your take as you like.


5 responses

  1. I totally agree with Ms Pearcy! That was a work of art! It looks like something from one of those high gloss magazine ads! Wow! I can easily see why Zack said, “No sharing!” The new stove /oven was a good idea too. A good baker needs the right “tools” to perform her work with excellence. I’m sure that digital husband of yours was glad to say good bye to those analog controls on the old stove and hello to digital on the new (grin!)!

  2. Your Iced lemon poundcake is a work of art! I love your way with words too! Hope you are having a grand time on your cruise. It’s the best way to vacation / travel I say!

Leave a Reply

